Become a Fitzroy Football Club Member

Support your local Fitzroy Footy Club for 2016 with a membership.


Latest News

Last chance for finals


The Fitzroy senior team needs to quickly re-find the form which saw it score a fantastic win over (then) ladder leaders Beaumaris just two weeks ago.

Following Fitzroy’s 55 point loss to Old Scotch on Saturday, the make-up of the VAFA Premier B Finals will be decided in this Saturday’s final round, with Fitzroy facing a game against Parkdale it simply must win and then having to hope St Bede’s Mentone Tigers can defeat Monash Blues.

Unfortunately last week’s result not only puts finals in doubt but also takes fate out of the team’s hands. If Monash and Old Scotch win, they will make up the four, with Fitzroy half a game out on 5th.

This is the scenario as the team travels to Gerry Green Reserve to compete not just for finals but also to retain the Norm Johnstone Trophy, which is on the line each time Fitzroy and Parkdale meet. Fitzroy holds the trophy.

In front of a large crowd at Brunswick Street Oval last week, the team delivered a performance it would rather forget against a hard, tough Old Scotch team which seemed faster and first to the ball for much of the day.

Fitzroy held strong in the first quarter and should have been further in front kicking with the wind to lead 3.5.23 to 2.1.13. At half time it was still tight on the scoreboard with Old Scotch leading by seven points, before piling on eight goals to one in the second half.

Peter Bacanello was named Fitzroy’s best, maintaining his poise, finding space and hitting targets, with Max Allen and Al Green also rating mentions from the coaches after the game.

Co-coach Michael Pickering said Old Scotch just proved too strong on the day and he hoped Fitzroy would get another opportunity to play against them this year.

“Our focus is on winning and then all we can do is just wait and see what happens with other results”.

Let’s get a big Fitzroy crowd down to Gerry Green Reserve and cheer the boys on for the final home and away game of the season. Wouldn’t it be nice to play Premier B finals?

And make sure you are out there early to cheer on one of the club’s stalwarts, Richard Willingham, for what is rumoured to be his last game in Fitzroy colours in the Reserves, starting at 11.40am.

Read More

Narrow loss in women’s grand final


The Fitzroy-ACU team has gone down narrowly to Gippsland Galaxy in the grand final of the VWFL Division 3 competition at Shepley Oval, Dandenong, 5.12.42 to 4.9.33.

On a windy, wet ground under lights, the Fitzroy-ACU team lead at quarter and then again at three quarter time by five points, but could not land an all-important goal early in the last quarter, and Gippsland used their experience and pace to land the winning blow.

You could be forgiven for thinking the Roy Girls were seasoned finals campaigners, such was their attack and composure in the wet and windy conditions at Dandenong. They certainly gave their more fancied opponents a great contest.

As they had in the previous two finals games, the Roy Girls tackled hard, found space and worked together as a team.

The team certainly lost no fans on Saturday night, when they gave it everything and fell just short. There was a large Fitzroy contingent on hand to cheer them on, including many of the senior men’s side. In fact people watched from far and wide (even Darwin) thanks to the live streaming on the VWFL website.

Check out the detailed match report here and you can also relive the action via the link.

Fitzroy’s partner in both women’s teams, ACU Sport and Wellbeing, put together a terrific montage of images throughout the season which you can view here:

To all the Roy Girls and coaches John Marshall and Jo Hogan, thank you for an incredible season and for doing the Fitzroy jumper proud. Congratulations on an outstanding finals series, which gave us plenty of highlights. Next season will be even better. And a huge thanks also to our partner in the women’s squad; Australian Catholic University.

Read More

​ Raffle winners drawn


Congratulations to the winners of the Fitzroy Football Club major raffle drawn on Saturday 20 August in the Community Rooms at Brunswick Street Oval.

Anthea Mills from North Blackburn won the $3000 travel prize thanks to Flight Centre Fitzroy.

Paul Volpato won the Grand Final Series tickets; 2 tickets to the Toyota AFL Grand Final Series (all four weeks), courtesy of the Brisbane Lions (Code: GF:PROREQ/0740).

And Fitzroy Director Media and Communications, Kate Nolan, won the third prize of StarCash cards to the value of $500, donated by Caltex Australia.

All winners were notified by phone over the weekend.

Thank you to everyone who purchased a ticket, sold a ticket (our players, volunteers and supporters) and also to our fantastic sponsors, who donated the prizes. This is the major annual fundraiser for the club.

Read More

View All News

Twitter Feed

Major Sponsors